This site contains commercial content

Unibet Become Title Sponsor of Premier League Darts

2017-11-14 11:14:02

Unibet are set to expand their already impressive collection sponsorship agreements by becoming the title sponsor of the acclaimed Professional Darts Corporation’s (PDC) Premier League Darts series in a 3-year deal that will run from 2018 until 2020. Under the new deal, the competition will be renamed as the Unibet League.

“A Phenomenon in British Sport”

Unibet will take over from Betway as the title sponsor of the 16-week tournament which takes place across the UK, Ireland and the Netherlands, while Berlin, in Germany, is being added to next year’s roster. Next year’s PDC is already shaping up to be the biggest yet, PDC Charmain Barry Hearn said: “The Unibet Premier League will be bigger than ever in 2018, with our success in the UK, Ireland and more recently the Netherlands leading to the introduction of a league night in Berlin next year, and it promises to be a special tournament. The Premier League’s growth since 2005 has been a phenomenon in British sport and it’s another boost that Unibet were so keen to add this prestigious event to their growing darts sponsorship portfolio.” The 2018 Unibet Premier League will begin in Dublin at the 3Arena on Thursday February 1st, less than a week after the Unibet Masters 2018 finishes.

Unibet and Darts

Unibet has a long-running association with darts going back to the first Unibet Masters series which was held in 2014. The company now sponsors 13 events high profile darts events including the World Grand Prix, Champions League of Darts, World Series Finals and Melbourne Darts Masters. To celebrate the new deal Unibet have released a number of videos on social media featuring some of the biggest names in darts including current champion and three-time PDC Premier League Winner Michael Van Gerwan and last year’s runner-up Peter ‘Snakebite’ Wright.